Vantastival 2012

2012-05-07 15.35.54

#11 Onto May and the first of my many festivals of 2012, and my first camera fail of 2012. Vantastival is a small festival run just north of Dundalk and is an intimate festival with just a few stages. Its focus is on campervans and the culture that goes with camper-vanning (hence Van-tastival, geddit?!) and this leads to a gloriously eclectic crowd of all ages.

Unfortunately, the May Bank Holiday weekend in Ireland may just be slightly too early in the year for comfortable camping and we froze. I don’t know whether it was the cold, or a lack of organisation on my part, or a bit of both, but battery drain on both my phone and my camera meant I left this festival photo-less.

This does no justice to what has been one of my highlights of 2012. The line-up was brilliant and introduced me to a whole new set of acts who have now become some of my favourites. Old festival pros like Ham Sandwich, Cathy Davey, the Viking Project and Le Galaxie were joined by The Barley Mob, RSAG, The Original Rudeboys, Gypsy Rebel Rabble, Willow Sea and Raglans. I’ve been lucky enough to catch most of these acts again since, and they are quite simply brilliant and are making me freshly excited about the state of Irish music at the moment.

It was also highly entertaining for the crowd to see the acts freezing, just like us, and the sense of camaraderie was probably peaked for me when (yet another) technical glitch for Le Galaxie resulted in an entire tent of star jumping punters being led by Dave Le Galaxie. Surreal but summed up the weekend for me!

New ones to watch:RSAG, The Barley Mob, The Original Rudeboys, Willow Sea, and most definitely Raglans (these lads are seriously good).

*Originally posted on http://www.gigaholic.tumblr.com on 02/08/12*

Leave a Reply

