Liza Flume

20131114_214840

It was around this time of 2013 that I realised that I with the tickets I had already bought that I was going to be going to 46 gigs that year. I decided that with a number so tantalisingly close to averaging one a week that I really wanted to find a few more gigs and try to hit that milestone. I only had a couple of months left so it was going to mean going to multiple gigs each week – which, to be honest, is no hardship, but can be take its toll on the amount of sleep I get!

20131114_214828

So I trawled the gig listings, and boy was I glad I did. Liza Flume was playing a gig in the Workman’s Club – and it was a night that I was free so off I went. Her show was amazing. Seriously talented – this girl can create more rhythm and melody with a loop pedal, clicking fingers, a guitar and her voice than a lot of the full bands I’ve seen. She came across as so humble, repeatedly referring to the fact that she was amazed that there were more people in the room than she knew in real life – it’s always amazing to see someone with so much potential being so surprised that people actually want to come to see them!

20131114_221915

Liza Flume with Brona Keogh and Katie Lynn from Gypsy Rebel Rabble

Leave a Reply

