Emily Wells

20131211_221720

Emily Wells upstairs in Whelans was another one of my whim gigs as I was determined to hit my 52 gig target. I am so so glad I took a chance on this gig, particularly as I don’t go to see many female artists (not a fan of the screechy “I’ll show my vocal range” approach to music). I didn’t know any of her music, but her support act, Liza Flume, was a massive draw – Liza is fantastic and another opportunity to see her so soon after her Workman’s Club gig cemented her place in my list of ones to watch at the moment.

20131211_212939

20131211_221725

Emily herself is a one-woman band, reminscent of Kate Bush or Tori Amos, and yet completely unique – she’s quite hard to describe. Keeping her chat to a limit until towards the end of the gig, she seemed to really enjoy herself, and the crowd, most of whom were plonked on the floor of the venue upstairs in Whelans, certainly seemed to be enjoying the show as much as I was. Brilliant, brilliant gig – check out her music if you want to hear something a bit different from the usual fodder.

20131211_221730

Leave a Reply

